Comparison Between Piano Concert by Barbara Wieman and Sacramento Chamber

February 20, 1997
William Strang

On Feb 20,1997, I attended a piano concert that was performed by Barbara
Wieman. The performance was held at the American River College Music Department
choir room. The choir room holds about 100 people and every seat was taken and
students were seated on the floor. The audience was dressed casual as everyone
was students trying to do their concert papers. Barbara Weiman was also dressed
casual but nice. The piano concert started at 12:20pm and was finished at 1:05pm.

The program started with a piece from L.V.

Beethoven called Sonata in F minor, Op.57. This piece can be characterized by an
intense, dramatic use of fluctuating dynamics. It was as if the crescendo was
not allowed to climax, then is aborted by a sudden change to pianissimo. The so
called Beethoven motif was used throughout the piece, very effectively I might
add. Barbara Wieman was very animated performing this piece and seemed to be
very emotional while playing. This piece was very distinct and there was an
effective use of rests that was displayed. I would call this piece very serious.
After Beethoven we were treated to F. Schuberts Impromptu in G flat Major, Op.
90, No.3. This piece was very pleasing to the ear so we could call this
consonant. The music seemed to flow and had a great rhythm. This piece was
romantic in nature and probably that is why it was written in the romantic era.

C. Debussy ‘s Feux d\'artifice (fireworks) was the next piece played. The
harmony was very obscured in this piece of music. The theme trying to be
presented in this piece was as if fireworks were going off. The notes were
ever changing and there was a very good uses of all the keys of the piano.
This piece was not very pleasing at all and I did not care for it at all.
From looking around the room it seemed other people would agree. After that
unpleasant piece was played we were lead into La Cathedrale engloutie (The
Sunken Cathedral). It was very slow starting but eventually started building the
tempo and then seemed to drop off and become very slow in tempo. This piece
seemed as if it were trying to tell a story. Alot of people seemed as if the
were going to sleep.

The last piece was changed from S. Prokofieff to Chopin\'s Ocean Atrium piece.
This piece had rhapsodic melodies giving the illusion that the piece might
have been improvised. It was very moving and flowing using melody and harmony.
Very pleasing and also from the romantic era. What a great way to end the
piano concert. Everyone enjoyed the music so much that she provided us with an
encore. She played another piece by Chopin. I would definitely recommend to
anyone wanting to learn more about music to take your class. This has been a
great experience for me.

On Feb 15,1997, I attended a concert put on by the Sacramento Chamber
Orchestra. The performance was held at the Dietrich Threatre, Sierra College in
Rocklin. Dietrich Threatre seats about 500 people, and on that evening there was
about 300 people present. The concert dress was casual for the audience but the
Sacramento Chamber Orchestra performers were dressed in tuxedo\'s for the men and
black outfits for the women. The performers consisted of 8 women and 10 men. The
orchestra was conducted by Zvonimir Hacko. Programs were provided and the
concert followed the printed program very well. The starting time was 8:00pm and
finished at 10:00pm.

The style of music played varied because of all the different musical
era\'s represented. Mozart from the classical era, Dvorak from the romantic era,
Bartok from the early 20th century, and Copland from our present. The Sacramento
Chamber Orchestra consisted of Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Violoncello, Double
Bass, Piano, and Harp. When combined, the performance was outstanding and

The concert opened with Mozart\'s marvelous miniature, “Eine Kleine
Nachtmusik” which stands for (“A Little Serenade”). Mozart\'s Serenade, which is
like a tiny symphony, was conducted and played with exemplary care. The tempo of
the music was upbeat, it\'s dynamics were managed thoughtfully, and the musical
form presented consisted of alterations that were superb. The “romance” of the
second movement was hushed and tender, the finale was as light as air.
After the finale of Mozart\'s we were treated to the Dvorak Serenade in E
opus 22. The Dvorak was in five movements lasting a little over half an hour.